The Shepherd’s Song by Betsy Duffey and Laurie Myers

This is a story of second chances and how one piece of paper will change the lives of 12 people forever!

Kate McConnell wonders if she has done enough with her life. She questions if she could have done more. She had written a series of Bible verses onto a piece of paper in neat handwriting and with love. Her son has walked away from God and she wants to encourage him to return to Him. She had placed the piece of paper in the pocket of his coat. That morning she had a number of errands to run and dinner to take to a friend. She had gone to the grocery store, dropped off the clothes at the dry cleaners, had run lunch over to a friends house, and for some reason was on her way back to the dry cleaners when the roads got really treacherous from a winter storm that was descending upon the area. She wakes up and wonders where she is. She is on the way to the hospital and not in good condition. The EMT tells her what happened and she fades in and out.

In the mean time one of the articles of clothing is her son’s coat with the verses of the 23rd Psalm. One of the employees discovers it and reads it and decides to wear this young man’s coat home. In the process the wind takes the Psalms 23 verses with a gust of wind and eventually makes it into the hands of a new person who either shares it with another or it gets dropped or blown away. Each person that reads the verses realizes one of the lines of the verses is speaking to them and what they are experiencing. It starts a transformation in their lives and their return to God. At the very end of the book, I will not tell you what happens and ruin it all for you, but the handwritten Psalms returns to the hands of the person it was intended for and changes his life as well. The book hops around first telling each person’s encounter with the piece of paper, but later ties up the story of each person who encountered it. It is an enjoyable read.

It is written by two sisters and they usually write children’s books, but they decided to write an adult book. This book is not gender based! Words can transform a life, they can also injure and destroy a life as well and the words in the Bible are healing and can transform you if you are open to receiving what it is saying to you. If you do not understand what the verse(s) mean, seek out someone who is solid in Bible teaching and they will direct you and help you understand it.

Psalms 23

The Lord is my Shepherd;
I shall not want.
He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.
Even though I walk through
the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil, for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.
You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

The Shepherd’s Song
The Shepherds Song by Betsy Duffy and Laurie Myers

Leave a Reply

