To Heaven and Back by Mary C. Neal, MD

I found this book at my sister’s consignment store and it is about a doctor’s extraordinary account of her death, Heaven, Angels, and life again – based on a true story of what has happened in her life and what her purpose on earth is.

She speaks of her faith when a teenager and the many times God seemed to intervene over the years after getting out of high school and going into medical school for her studies in orthopedics and then to become an orthopedic surgeon. She admits she is cynical and skeptical and maybe that is why she experienced so many times where she encountered angels, her short time in heaven, and many other occurrences that she felt God was close by and intervening.

She wondered why she was brought back to life, which I am sure we would all question that since Heaven is wonderful, but she knows now that God had reasons why she was to be here and she shares those in the book. I have experienced times in my life where I know God was with me and saved my life or was a presence to encourage me and know He is never far away, but always present by my side whether it is He himself or guardian angels.

I enjoyed this book and I do believe that miracles are still performed today, not just something that happened while Jesus walked the earth. Mary dispels the myths that there is definitely life after death.

I watched a documentary the other evening about Life after Death and they spoke only from a scientific point of view and rarely was God’s name mentioned. I was truly saddened by the lack of a connection with God these people had following their experience in heaven – many would say they saw the Mother Mary, others would say it was strictly angels, and only 1 or 2 people stated it was a higher power. I was surprised after their near death experiences that they did not have more of a desire to pursue God. And rarely do you ever hear of the stories of people who had near death experiences who did not see the light, but just darkness. I know there are people out there who have experienced that, but I think most people do not share those because no one wants to believe there is a Hell that people will go to, but in the Bible it states in Revelation 20:15
“And anyone whose name was not found recorded in the Book of Life was thrown into the lake of fire.” And again in:
Matthew 13:41–42
“The Son of Man will send his angels, and they will remove from his Kingdom everything that causes sin and all who do evil. And the angels will throw them into the fiery furnace, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.”

Satan will deceive many in believing there is no hell, but he is lying. I am sure he already knows that will be his fate along with the false prophet.
Revelation 20:10
“… and the devil who had deceived them was thrown into the lake of fire and sulfur where the beast and the false prophet were, and they will be tormented day and night forever and ever.”

This book by Mary C. Neal, MD is a good one and I found it difficult to leave it lie. I have attached a copy of the front of the book here for your viewing. If you read this book – may it forever touch your life!

To Heaven and Back by Mary C. Neal, M.D.

Leave a Reply

