Fried Apples

This is a recipe I like to make for a quick dessert served over vanilla ice cream. I love apple recipes!!

Ingredients:
6 Granny Smith green apples (I use these because they are a firm apple)
1 stick of margarine
1 cup of brown sugar
Cinnamon and Nutmeg to spice

I cut the apples in small, bite size pieces. I sprinkle them with a little white sugar to start to sweeten them before frying and toss to get some sugar on each piece. I put the 1 stick of margarine in a fry pan on the stove and allow it to melt completely and then I add the brown sugar and allow it to somewhat mix into the butter in the pan. I pour the apple pieces into the pan and sprinkle the cinnamon and nutmeg over the apples to my liking and then toss with the wet ingredients. I put a lid on it and keep the heat at medium heat, maybe a little less. Do not let the apples burn – stir occasionally. Once the apples have shrunk down and are easy to cut you can serve them over a dip of ice cream or add cool whip to the top of them in a bowl. They keep well in the frig also and can be reheated and taste wonderful the next day as well.

It makes the whole house smell great and it is a quick make ahead recipe. Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

