Regrets and Do-Overs…

I received an email today from the Daily Prompt and was going to reply to it, but the comments were closed, so I thought I would post my reply to that question here:

Describe the one decision in your life where you wish you could get a “do-over.” Tell us about the decision, and why you’d choose to take a different path this time around.

I honestly would have to say it was when I was working at a local hospital as a nurses aide and the opportunity arose that I could take a full nursing course through our local hospital and not have to drive to the city an hour away to get my training and instruction. For some reason at the time I was thinking I had all the time in the world and that the program would be available for another few years. I did not take the course and decided to wait and it was a huge mistake and the one decision I regret.

If I had to do it over again I would have taken the first opportunity when it was offered and would have completed 2 years of a nursing degree to become an R.N. and would now be able to get a job in that field pretty much anywhere I wanted. As it it stands I am now struggling to find work as a medical transcriptionist and truly wish I had chosen differently.

I would enjoy hearing from others about what you wish you had chosen to do differently – just one thing that may have made a huge difference in the direction your life would have gone. Please feel free to share!

Leave a Reply

