Change…how do you deal with it?

I was at our local grocer today and they are renovating the inside of the store putting up new shelving, new coolers and freezers and eventually the meat department will get a new look as well. Needless to say it is chaotic in there and nothing is where it was – except for a few things. Even the employees were hard pressed to find what you were seeking when you asked them, but even as exasperated as they were with where things were located – they were all very pleasant and most laughed about it. There were some customers who were irate with the aisles not being as they once were and frustrated they could not find anything. I’ll admit it was a little frustrating, but I also know from talking the store manager a couple of weeks ago that it is a temporary thing and then everything will be where it is supposed to be. I am anxious to see the finished product!

Some of us deal with change better than others and I think we all, at some point, have issues with change in some area of our life. I find the older I get that some things I hate to see change in, but change is an inevitable thing and sometimes it is welcome! I know sometimes I wish things would change that do not because you feel like you are in a deep rut that you cannot get out of.

I was reminded this morning about a verse I had read recently and it is found in James 1:17: “Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the father of heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” One thing we can always rely upon is God does not change – He always remains the same no matter our circumstances. He is a rock we can lean on when times are rough and we need some stability in our lives. I prayed this when I was trying to find items on my list and it helped me keep calm and collected. He got me through that grocery store without getting upset and actually it almost felt like a treasure hunt and I got some extra walking in! Sometimes change is necessary in our lives so that our walk with Him does not falter or become a drudgery. Just as Charles Stanley once stated – “Often times God demonstrates His faithfulness in adversity by providing for us what we need to survive. He does not change our painful circumstances. He sustains us through them.”

I am thankful I have faith in a God who never changes and is someone I can call out to – He always provides just what I need to get me through what I am facing.

Leave a Reply

