God’s Answer to our Prayers…

Cacti and caterpillar

When we pray we are expecting God to answer our prayers as we requested or presented to Him, but how often does that happen? Most of my experiences God send’s me answers that are not packaged like I thought they should look and often times it comes in crumpled, torn packages and I become discouraged. But sometimes God’s packages are in disguise and sometimes I have to wait for it to be revealed to me. I recall a story I read a while ago that tells of this and I am sharing it below:

The Butterfly and the Flower

Once there was a man who asked God for a flower…. ….and a butterfly.
But instead God gave him a cactus…. ….and a caterpillar.

The man was sad, he didn’t understand why his request was mistaken
Then he thought:
Oh well, God has too many people to care for… and decided not to question.

After some time, the man went to check up on his request that he had left forgotten

To his surprise, from the thorny & ugly cactus a beautiful flower had grown
And the unsightly caterpillar had been transformed into the most beautiful butterfly.

**********
I can only conclude that maybe God was wanting to test the man’s faith in Him – was there any doubt, could he wait it out, maybe God did not feel he was ready for the flower and butterfly, but one thing I know is that HIS ways are ALWAYS the best and they are not all packaged perfectly – some things we receive have thorns and appear as something they are not.

If you asked God for one thing & received another, TRUST in Him to reveal it to you.
You can be sure that He will always give you what you need at the appropriate time.

He knows best too because what you want…….is not always what you need!

God never fails to grant our petitions, so keep on going to Him without doubting or little faith.
Today’s THORN…
Is tomorrow’s FLOWER!

God wants to give His very best to those who leave it up to Him to decide what that is!

“If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.” John 15:7

“And whatever you ask in prayer, you will receive, if you have faith.” Matthew 21:22

Cacti flower and butterfly

2 thoughts on “God’s Answer to our Prayers…

    • Thank you for sharing these links Tim – I enjoyed reading them and agree that prayer is a very powerful tool we as Christians have at our disposal and I have seen it move mountains and change circumstances and people! Truly amazing the impact it can have on your own life, as well as the life of others!

Leave a Reply

